The 41st Annual IEEE Conference on Local Computer Networks (LCN 2016)

November 7-10, 2016

The Address, Dubai, UAE

Call for Papers

The IEEE LCN conference is the premier conference on the leading edge of theoretical and practical aspects of computer networking. LCN is a highly interactive conference that enables an effective interchange of results and ideas among researchers, users, and product developers. For the past 40 years, major developments from high-speed networks to the global Internet to specialized sensor networks have been reported at this conference.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Personal and wearable networks
  • Wireless ad hoc, sensor & RFID networks
  • Information-centric networking
  • Embedded networks
  • Opportunistic networking
  • Delay-tolerant networks
  • Cognitive radio networks
  • Vehicular networks
  • Underwater sensor networks
  • Cyber-physical systems
  • Social networks
  • Mobile and ubiquitous networking
  • Green networking
  • Overlay and peer-to-peer networks
  • Local-area and metropolitan-area networks
  • Storage-area networks
  • Routing and transport protocols
  • Software Defined Networking
  • Internet of Things
  • Link technologies
  • Adaptive networking applications
  • Authentication, authorization, accounting
  • Security and privacy
  • Cross-layer optimization
  • Mobility and Location-dependent services
  • Multimedia and real-time communication
  • Machine-to-machine communications for smart environments
  • Smart cities
  • Network traffic characterization and measurements
  • Network management, reliability and QoS
  • Performance evaluation of networks
  • Testbeds for network experiments
  • Network coding
  • Optical and high-speed access networks

Authors are invited to submit papers describing original, previously unpublished work, not currently under review by another conference, workshop, or a journal. Full papers (up to 8 camera-ready pages, 10 pt font in IEEE format) should present novel perspectives within the general scope of the conference. Short papers are an opportunity to present preliminary or interim results and are limited to 4 camera-ready pages. Short papers will be presented in a poster session. Both full and short papers are published in the proceedings and IEEE Xplore. All papers must include title, complete contact information for all authors, abstract, and keywords on the cover page. IEEE reserves the right to remove papers from IEEE Xplore that are not presented at the conference.

Paper Submission

Papers must be registered on EDAS and submitted in PDF format. Detailed submission instructions are available at the conference website. Direct your questions to Program Chairs: Jens Tölle ( and Kemal Akkaya (

Important Dates

Paper Registration April 18, 2016
Paper Submission April 25, 2016
Notification July 25, 2016
Final Paper August 15, 2016

Organizing Committee

General Chair

  • Salil Kanhere UNSW, Australia

General Co-Chair

  • Rachid Benlamri Canadian University of Dubai, UAE

Program Chair

  • Jens Tölle Fraunhofer-FKIE, Germany

Program Co-Chair

  • Kemal Akkaya Florida International Univ., USA

Publications Chair

  • Karl Andersson Luleå Univ. of Techn.,Sweden

Workshops Chair

  • Olivier Mehani Data61, CSIRO, Australia

Local Arrangement Chair

  • Adel Ben Mnaouer Canadian University of Dubai, UAE

Local Arrangement Co-Chair

  • Emad Mohamed Canadian University of Dubai, UAE

Finance Chair

  • Frank Huebner, USA

Demonstrations Chair

  • Matthias Hollick TU Darmstadt, Germany

Registration Chair

  • Katrin Reitsma Motorola Solutions, USA

Corporate Relations Chair

  • Arafat Dweik Khalifa University, UAE

Student Grants Chair

  • Fadi Al-Turjman Middle East Technical Univ, Cyprus

Publicity Co-Chairs

  • Soumaya Cherkaoui, Univ. Sherbrooke, Canada
  • Hwee-Pink Tan, SMU, Singapore


  • Gary Kessler Embry-Riddle Aeronautical Univ., USA

Steering Committee

  • Nils Aschenbruck, Univ. of Osnabruck, Germany
  • Joe Bumblis , IEEE TCCC Executive Committee
  • Ken Christensen, Univ. of South Florida, USA
  • Ehab Elmallah, Univ. of Alberta, Canada
  • Matthias Frank, Univ. of Bonn, Germany
  • Anura Jayasumana, Colorado State Univ., USA
  • Gary Kessler, Embry-Riddle Aeron. Univ., USA
  • Burkhard Stiller, Univ. of Zürich, Switzerland
  • Tim Strayer, BBN, USA
  • Damla Turgut, Univ. of Central Florida, USA
  • Mohamed Younis, Univ. of Maryland, USA