The 39th Annual IEEE Conference on Local Computer Networks (LCN 2014)

8-11 September, 2014

Chateau Lacombe Hotel, Edmonton, Canada

Call for Papers

The IEEE LCN conference is the premier conference on the leading edge of theoretical and practical aspects of computer networking. LCN is a highly interactive conference that enables an effective interchange of results and ideas among researchers, users, and product developers. For the past 38 years, major developments from high-speed networks to the global Internet to specialized sensor networks have been reported at this conference.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Personal and wearable networks
  • Wireless ad hoc, sensor & RFID networks
  • Information-centric networking
  • Embedded networks
  • Opportunistic networking
  • Delay-tolerant networks
  • Cognitive radio networks
  • Vehicular networks
  • Underwater sensor networks
  • Cyber-physical systems
  • Social networks
  • Mobile and ubiquitous networking
  • Green networking
  • Overlay and peer-to-peer networks
  • Local-area and metropolitan-area networks
  • Storage-area networks
  • Routing and transport protocols
  • Software Defined Networking
  • Internet of Things
  • Link technologies
  • Adaptive networking applications
  • Authentication, authorization, accounting
  • Security and privacy
  • Cross-layer optimization
  • Mobility and Location-dependent services
  • Multimedia and real-time communication
  • Machine-to-machine communications for smart environments
  • Smart cities
  • Network traffic characterization and measurements
  • Network management, reliability and QoS
  • Performance evaluation of networks
  • Testbeds for network experiments
  • Network coding
  • Optical and high-speed access networks

Authors are invited to submit papers describing original, previously unpublished work, not currently under review by another conference, workshop, or a journal. Full papers (up to 8 camera-ready pages, 10 pt font in IEEE format) should present novel perspectives within the general scope of the conference. Short papers are an opportunity to present preliminary or interim results and are limited to 4 camera-ready pages. Short papers will be presented in a poster session. Both full and short papers are published in the proceedings and IEEE Xplore. All papers must include title, complete contact information for all authors, abstract, and keywords on the cover page. IEEE reserves the right to remove papers from IEEE Xplore that are not presented at the conference.

Paper submission

Papers must be registered on EDAS and submitted in PDF format. Detailed submission instructions are available at the conference website. Direct your questions to Program Chairs: Nils Aschenbruck and Salil Kanhere

Important Dates

Paper Registration March 1, 2014
Paper Submission March 7, 2014
Notification May 30, 2014
Final Paper June 30, 2014
Demo proposals June 11, 2014

Organizing Committee

General Chair

  • Damla Turgut University of Central Florida, USA

Program Chair

  • Nils Aschenbruck University of Osnabrück, Germany

Program Co-Chair

  • Salil Kanhere University of New South Wales, Australia

Local Arrangements Chair

  • Ehab Elmallah University of Alberta, Canada

Local Arrangements Co-Chair

  • Janelle Harms University of Alberta, Canada

Finance Chair

  • Frank Huebner AT&T, USA

Registration Chair

  • Fadi Al-Turjman University of Guelph

Corporate Relations Chair

  • Soumaya Cherkaoui Université Sherbrooke, Canada

Publications Chair

  • Kemal Akkaya Southern Illinois University, USA

Workshops Chair

  • Jens Tölle Fraunhofer-FKIE, Germany

Demonstrations Chair

  • Karl Andersson Luleå University of Technology, Sweden

Publicity Co-Chair USA

  • Bogdan Carbunar Florida International University, USA

Publicity Co-Chair Europe

  • Matthias Hollick Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany

Publicity Co-Chair Asia-Pacific

  • Olivier Mehani, NICTA, Australia

Editorial Liaison

  • Matthias Wählisch Freie Universität Berlin, Germany

Student Grants Chair

  • Katrin Reitsma Motorola Solutions, USA


  • Gary Kessler Embry-Riddle Aeronautical Univ., USA

Steering Committee

  • Joe Bumblis, University of Wisconsin-Stout
  • Chun Tung Chou, Univ. New South Wales
  • Ken Christensen, University of South Florida
  • Ehab Elmallah, University of Alberta
  • Matthias Frank, University of Bonn
  • Hossam Hassanein, Queen’s University
  • Anura Jayasumana, Colorado State University
  • Gary Kessler, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical Univ.
  • Tom Pfeifer, Technical University of Berlin
  • Burkhard Stiller, University of Zürich + ETH
  • Tim Strayer, BBN
  • Mohamed Younis, Univ. of Maryland Baltimore County