The 37th Annual IEEE Conference on Local Computer Networks (LCN 2012)

October 22 – 25, 2012

Sheraton Sand Key Hotel, Clearwater, Florida, USA

Call for Papers

The IEEE LCN conference is the premier conference on the leading edge of theoretical and practical aspects of computer networking. LCN is a highly interactive conference that enables an effective interchange of results and ideas among researchers, users, and product developers. For the past 36 years, major developments from high-speed local networks to the global Internet to specialized sensor networks have been reported at this conference.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Personal and wearable networks
  • Sensor and RFID networks
  • Embedded networks
  • Wireless, mobile and ad hoc networks
  • Optical networks
  • Cognitive radio networks
  • Local-area networks
  • Vehicular and underwater networks
  • Metropolitan-area networks
  • High-speed access networks
  • Home and SOHO networks
  • Overlay and peer-to-peer networks
  • Storage-area networks
  • Social Networks
  • IPv6 deployment and migration
  • Network coding
  • Link technologies
  • Ubiquitous networking
  • Green networking
  • Adaptive networking applications
  • Authentication, authorization, accounting
  • Congestion and flow control
  • Cross-layer optimization
  • Mobility and Location-dependent services
  • Multimedia and real-time communication
  • Network management
  • Network reliability and Quality-of-Service
  • Security and privacy
  • Traffic characterization and measurements
  • Performance evaluation/engineering
  • Testbeds for experiments and simulations

Authors are invited to submit papers describing original, previously unpublished work, not currently under review by another conference, workshop, or a journal. Full papers (up to 8 camera-ready pages, 10 pt font in IEEE format) should present novel perspectives within the general scope of the conference. Short papers are an opportunity to present preliminary or interim results and are limited to 4 camera-ready pages. Short papers will be presented in a poster session. Both full and short papers are published in the proceedings and IEEE Xplore. All papers must include title, complete contact information for all authors, abstract, and keywords on the cover page. IEEE reserves the right to remove papers from IEEE Xplore that are not presented at the conference.

Paper submission

Papers must registered on EDAS and submitted in PDF format. Detailed submission instructions are available at the conference website. Direct your questions to

  • Program Chair, Anura Jayasumana <>
  • Program Co-chair, Damla Turgut <>.


A number of workshops will be co-located with the conference. Workshop papers will be published in the LCN proceedings and IEEE Xplore. Information on workshops, submission deadlines and all other details will be posted on the conference web site.


Proposals are solicited for research demonstrations. A proposal (no more than 3 pages) should describe the scope, significance and required equipment. Proposals should be submitted via EDAS to the LCN Demo Track.

Important Dates

Paper Registration April 5, 2012
Paper Submission April 12, 2012
Notification July 6, 2012
Final Paper July 30, 2012
Demonstration proposals July 11, 2012

Organizing Committee

General Chair

  • Tom Pfeifer Waterford IT Consulting

Program Chair

  • Anura Jayasumana Colorado State University

Program Co-Chair and Editorial Liaison

  • Damla Turgut University of Central Florida

Finance Chair

  • Frank Huebner AT&T Labs

Local Arrangements Chair

  • Ken Christensen University of South Florida

Workshops Chair

  • Nils Aschenbruck University of Osnabrück

Publications Chair

  • Jens Tölle Fraunhofer-FKIE

Demonstrations Chair

  • Kemal Akkaya Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Publicity Chair

  • Salil Kanhere University of New South Wales

Student Grants Chair

  • Matthias Wählisch Freie Universität Berlin


  • Gary Kessler Gary Kessler Associates

Steering Committee

  • Joe Bumblis University of Wisconsin-Stout
  • Chun Tung Chou University of New South Wales
  • Ken Christensen University of South Florida
  • Ehab Elmallah University of Alberta
  • Matthias Frank University of Bonn
  • Hossam Hassanein Queen’s University
  • Gary Kessler Gary Kessler Associates
  • Burkhard Stiller University of Zürich + ETH Zürich
  • Tim Strayer BBN
  • Mohamed Younis Univ of Maryland, Baltimore County