The 36th International Conference on Information Networking (ICOIN 2022)

Jan 12-15, 2022

Jeju Island, Korea & virtual conference


The 36th International Conference on Information Networking (ICOIN) will take place in Jeju Island, Korea & virtual conference, which is organized by Korea Institute of Information Scientists and Engineers (KIISE) and technically co-sponsored by IEEE and IEICE. It has been 36 years since ICOIN originally started under the name of Joint Workshop on Computer Communication in 1986. In past thirty years, computer communication and networking technologies have changed every aspect of our lives and societies. While computer networks have contributed largely to the current IT advancement, it will play a key role in new IT paradigms such as IoT and cloud computing and will be applied to various areas of the upcoming society including industry, business, politics, culture, medicine and so on. ICOIN is the most comprehensive conference focused on the various aspects of advances in computer communication and networking technologies. The main purpose of ICOIN 2022 is to improve our research by achieving the highest capability and encourage open discussions on computer communication and networking technologies. Authors are invited to submit original unpublished manuscripts that demonstrate recent advances in computer communications, wireless/mobile networks, and converged networks in the theoretical and practical aspects.Topics

Potential topics in this conference include, but are not limited to:

5G/6G cellular systems and heterogeneous networksNetworked computing systems and devices
Ad-hoc and sensor networksNetwork performance analysis/measurement and evaluation
Artificial intelligence (AI) and autonomous networkingNetwork security, trust and privacy
Big data/Cloud computing and networksNetwork simulation and modeling
Blockchain platforms and servicesNetwork survivability and reliability
Cognitive radio, cooperative communication and networkingNetwork science
Content distribution networks (CDN)Network traffic management
Contents/Information centric networks (CCN/ICN)Optical networks
Cross-layer design and optimizationOperating systems and middleware support for networking
Cyber-physical system (CPS)Peer-to-peer (P2P)/Overlay networks
Delay/Disruption tolerant network (DTN)Pricing and billing
Device-to-device communicationsQoS and resource management
Distributed database and data miningRouting, switching, and addressing
Energy-efficient protocols, green networks, and smart gridSocial computing and networks
Future Internet and future networksSoftware defined networking (SDN) and network virtualization
Healthcare systems and networksUbiquitous home and office networking
Industrial networks and smart factoryUnderwater networks
Internet and web-based database systems and applicationsVehicle-to-everything (V2X) and autonomous cars
Internet of things and machine-to-machine communicationsVR/AR Streaming
Machine learning and networkingWireless/mobile networks (WBAN/WPAN/WLAN/WMAN/WWAN)
Mobile Edge ComputingWireless mesh/multihop networks
Multimedia/database systems and applications

Selected Journal Publication

Accepted and presented papers will be published in the ICOIN 2022 Conference Proceedings. Also extended versions of selected papers will be published in the following international journal as a special issue or section for the ICOIN 2022.

  • Electronics (SCIE)

Submission and Publication

Authors are invited to submit full paper (5~6 pages) or short paper (3~4 pages) electronically as PDF files through EDAS. The direct link for paper submission is Details about the submission process including formatting instructions will be available at the conference website, Papers must be submitted using the IEEE conference template. The direct link for the template is All submitted papers are subject to peer reviews by Technical Program Committee members. Accepted papers for presentation in the conference will appear in the proceedings which will be available to participants during the conference. More details will be made available in subsequent announcements and on our website. There will be Best Paper Awards for outstanding contributed papers. All accepted and presented papers will be published in the ICOIN 2022 Conference Proceedings and submitted to IEEE Xplore.

Important Dates

Paper Submission DueOctober 15, 2021 (Final)
Acceptance NotificationNovember 15, 2021
Camera-ready Papers DueNovember 29, 2021
Conference DatesJanuary 12-15, 2022

Accepted papers will be published in the proceedings with an assigned ISBN number and submitted to IEEE Xplore.

If you have any questions about the CFP and papers submission,
please send any inquiry to TPC Chair: Prof. Yong-Hoon Choi (

Organizing committee

General Co-Chairs

  • Jong Won Choe, Sookmyung Women’s University, Korea
  • Sanghwan Lee, Kookmin University, South Korea
  • Somnuk Keretho, Kasetsart University, Thailand
  • Tomoki Yoshihisa, Osaka University, Japan
  • Nen-Fu (Fred) Huang, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
  • Takeo Fujii, The University of Electro-Communications, Japan
  • Panjai Tantatsanawong, Silpakorn University, Thailand

Vice General Co-Chairs

  • Sang-Chul Kim, Kookmin University, South Korea
  • Ekkarat Boonchieng, Chiang Mai University, Thailand
  • Surasak Sanguanpong, Kasetsart University, Thailand

Workshop Co-Chairs

  • Eun-Seok Ryu, Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea
  • Junbeom Hur, Korea University, South Korea
  • Katsuyoshi Iida, Hokkaido University, Japan

Tutorial Co-Chairs

  • Jeongyeup Paek, Chung-Ang University, South Korea
  • JeongGil Ko, Yonsei University, South Korea
  • Songmin Kim, KAIST, South Korea
  • Hiroshi Yamamoto, Ritsumeikan University, Japan

Poster Co-Chairs

  • Jeongho Kwak, DGIST, South Korea
  • Hyeryung Jang, Dongguk University, South Korea

Finance Co-Chairs

  • Joongheon Kim, Korea University, South Korea
  • Wonjun Lee, Korea University, South Korea

Local Arrangement Co-Chairs

  • Haneul Ko, Korea University, South Korea
  • Yongseok Son, Chung-Ang University, South Korea
  • Woongsoo Na, Kongju National University, South Korea

Publication Co-Chairs

  • Sangoh Park, Chung-Ang University, South Korea
  • HyungJune Lee, Ewha Womans University, South Korea

Registration Co-Chairs

  • Hyosu Kim, Chung-Ang University, South Korea
  • Changhee Joo, Korea University, South Korea
  • Taeyoon Kim, Soonchunhyang University, South Korea

Publicity Co-Chairs

  • JungRyun Lee, Chung-Ang University, South Korea
  • Sungoh Kwon, University of Ulsan, South Korea
  • Carlos Becker Westphall, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil
  • Yasuo Okabe, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Jyh-Cheng Chen, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Patron Co-Chairs

  • Kyubok Lee, KETI, South Korea
  • Hyun-Woo Lee, ETRI, South Korea
  • Hyoung Jun Kim, ETRI, South Korea

Internet Media Chair

  • Laihyuk Park, Seoul National University of Science & Technology, South Korea

International Cooperation Co-Chairs

  • Jangwon Lee, Yonsei University, South Korea
  • Heejun Roh, Korea University, South Korea
  • Sangheon Pack, Korea University, South Korea
  • Walid Saad, Virginia Tech, USA
  • Hiroshi Shigeno, Keio University, Japan
  • Kenichi Yoshida, Univeristy of Tsukuba, Japan
  • Pascal Lorenz, University of Haute Alsace, France
  • Long Bao Le, University of Quebec, Canada
  • Nurul Sarkar, Auckland University of Technology (AUT), New Zealand

International Journal Co-Chairs

  • Rajib Paul, Ajou University, South Korea
  • Young-June Choi, Ajou University, South Korea
  • Sang-Woon Jeon, Hanyang University, South Korea