The 24th IEEE International Conference on Network Protocols  (ICNP 2016)

November 8-11, 2016


ICNP 2016, the 24th annual edition of the IEEE International Conference on Network Protocols, is a conference covering all aspects of network protocols, including design, analysis, specification, verification, implementation, and performance. It will be held in Singapore between November 8 and November 11, 2016. The workshops will be on the 8th of November and the conference will be held from the 9th to the 11th.

Papers with significant research contributions to the field of network protocols are solicited for submission. Papers cannot be previously published nor under review by another conference or journal. Papers containing plagiarized material will be subject to the IEEE plagiarism policy and will be rejected without review.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • All aspects of network protocol research including design, specification, verification, implementation, measurement, testing, and analysis.
  • Protocols for wireless networks, cellular networks, software-defined networks, data center networks, social networks, peer-to-peer networks, sensor networks, and Internet of Things.
  • Domain-specific solutions, including protocols for network security, routing, user privacy, and network management.
  • Contributions to network architecture, e.g., specific algorithms and protocols for network virtualization or future Internet architectures.

Papers must deal specifically with aspects of network protocol research. ICNP 2016 will select full papers for the best paper awards. Up to two of the best papers from ICNP will be fasttracked in the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, with a streamlined journal review process.

ICNP 2016 will use a double-blind review process. Papers should adhere to the IEEE formatting requirements and should not exceed 10 pages (see conference website page for details). Authors are expected to present accepted papers at the conference, and at least one author is required to register, at the full rate, in order for the paper to appear in the proceedings and the IEEE digital library. One full registration covers up to three papers on which a person is a coauthor.

Important dates

Title/Abstract registration deadline Friday, May 6, 2016, 11:59pm EDT (HARD DEADLINE)
Full Paper submission deadline Friday, May 13, 2016, 11:59pm EDT (HARD DEADLINE)
Notification of acceptance Friday, July 15, 2016
Camera-ready deadline Friday, September 2, 2016
Early registration deadline  Wednesday, September 28, 2016 (extended deadline)


General chairs

  • Mun Choon Chan (National University of Singapore)
  • John C.S. Lui (Chinese University of Hong Kong)

TPC chairs

  • Lili Qiu (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Prashant Shenoy (University of Massachusetts Amherst)

Local arrangements chair

  • Wei Tsang Ooi (National University of Singapore)

Finance chair

  • Richard T. B. Ma (National University of Singapore)

Travel grant chairs

  • Despoina (Debbie) Perouli (Marquette University)
  • Tao Gu (RMIT University, Australia)

Publications chair

  • Hwee-Xian Tan (Singapore Management University)

Workshop chairs

  • David Yau (Singapore University of Technology and Design)
  • Xiaoming Fu (University of Göttingen, Germany)

Poster/demo chairs

  • Fangming Liu (Huazhong University of Science and Technology)
  • Jun Luo (Nanyang Technological University)

Publicity chairs

  • Eugene Chai (NEC Laboratories America, Inc.)
  • Binbin Chen (Advanced Digital Sciences Center, Singapore)

Industry liaison chairs

  • Ben Leong (National University of Singapore)
  • Bhojan Anand (National University of Singapore)

Web chair

  • Kartik Sankaran (National University of Singapore)

Steering committee

  • Kevin Almeroth (University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • Ken Calvert (University of Kentucky)
  • Sonia Fahmy (Purdue University)
  • Mohamed Gouda (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Timothy G. Griffin (University of Cambridge)
  • Teruo Higashino (Osaka University)
  • David Lee (HP Labs)
  • K.K. Ramakrishnan (University of California, Riverside)
  • Krishan Sabnani (Bell Laboratories)

Area chairs

  • Kevin Almeroth (University of California, Santa Barbara)
  • Sujata Banerjee (HP Labs)
  • Sonia Fahmy (Purdue University)
  • J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves (University of California, Santa Cruz)
  • Sergey Gorinsky (IMDEA Networks Institute)
  • Baochun Li (University of Toronto)
  • Vishal Misra (Columbia University)
  • Thyagarajan Nandagopal (National Science Foundation)
  • K.K. Ramakrishnan (University of California, Riverside)
  • Ramachandran Ramjee (Microsoft Research)
  • Ellen W. Zegura (Georgia Tech)
  • Zhi-Li Zhang (University of Minnesota)