The 13th IEEE International Symposium on Multimedia (ISM 2011)

Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa, Dana Point, California USA

December 5-7, 2011

Sponsored by IEEE Computer Society and IEEE Technical Committee on Multimedia Computing
ISM2011 Online Space

The IEEE International Symposium on Multimedia (ISM2011) is an international forum for researchers to exchange information regarding advances in the state of the art and practice of multimedia computing, as well as to identify the emerging research topics and define the future of multimedia computing. The technical program of ISM2011 will consist of invited talks, paper presentations, and panel discussions. Submissions are solicited for full papers, workshop papers, technical demos, and panels.

Submissions of high quality papers describing mature results or on-going work are invited. Topics for submission include but are not limited to:

  • Multimedia systems, architecture, and applications
  • Multimedia networking and QoS
  • Peer-to-peer multimedia systems and streaming
  • Pervasive and interactive multimedia systems including mobile systems, pervasive gaming, and digital TV
  • Multimedia meta-modeling techniques and operating systems
  • Architecture specification languages
  • Software development using multimedia techniques
  • Multimedia signal processing including audio, video, image processing, and coding
  • Multimedia Information Visualization and Interactive Systems
  • Virtual Reality
  • Multimedia file systems, databases, and retrieval
  • Multimedia collaboration
  • Multimedia in social network analysis
  • Rich media enabled E-commerce
  • Computational intelligence including neural networks, fuzzy logic, and genetic algorithms
  • Intelligent agents for multimedia content creation, distribution, and analysis
  • Internet telephony and hypermedia technologies and systems
  • Multimedia security including digital watermark and encryption
  • Mobile Multimedia Systems and Services
  • Multimodal Interaction, including Human Factors
  • Multimodal User Interfaces: Design, Engineering, Modality-Abstractions, etc.
  • Multimedia tools including authoring, analyzing, editing, and browsing

There will be a Best Paper Award and a Best Student Paper Award for the best submitted paper and the best submitted student paper. The award winners will be announced at the conference banquet.


The written and spoken language of ISM2011 is English. For full papers, authors should submit an 8-page manuscript in double-column IEEE format including the authors’ names and affiliations, and a short abstract electronically, following the submission guidelines available on the ISM2011 web page. Only electronic submission will be accepted. All papers should be in Adobe portable document format (PDF). The Conference Proceedings will be published by the IEEE Computer Society Press and be available for online access via IEEEXplore. A number of the papers presented at the conference will be selected for possible publications in journals.

ISM2011 will include a few workshops dedicated to focused interest areas. Submissions of proposals on workshops of emerging areas are invited. Papers from Workshops will be presented at ISM2011, and included in the Proceedings. Submissions of proposals on panels and demonstrations are also encouraged. Panel summary articles may also be included in the conference proceedings. The page limit is 6 for workshop papers and 2 for demonstration papers, both in IEEE double-column format. Please refer to the workshop and demonstration program links for additional requirements.

Prospective authors are also invited to submit papers to the Industry Program, which will be included in the proceedings. A main goal of this program is to present research work that exposes the academic and research communities to challenges and issues important for the industry. Please refer to the Industry Program link for submission details.

Important Dates

4/6/2011 Submission of workshop proposals
4/15/2011 Notification of workshop acceptances
7/23/2011 Submission of main conference papers (extended)
7/23/2011 Submission of panel proposals (extended)
7/23/2011 Submission of demo and industry papers (extended)
8/22/2011 Notification of panel acceptances (extended)
8/22/2011 Notification of acceptance of main conference/workshop papers (extended)
8/22/2011 Notification of acceptance of demo/industry papers (extended)
9/12/2011 Camera-Ready copy of all accepted papers
9/16/2011 Author registration
10/24/2011 Advance registration for general participants

Conference Organizing Committee

General Co-Chairs

  • Alberto Del Bimbo, University degli Studi di Firenze, Italy
  • Kwang-ro Park, ETRI, Korea
  • Phillip C.Y. Sheu, University of California, Irvine, USA

Program Co-Chairs

  • Lars Knipping, Berlin Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Chengcui Zhang, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

Workshop Co-Chairs

  • Gerald Friedland, International Computer Science Institute, USA
  • Pascal Frossard, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Zhu Liu, AT&T Research Labs, USA
  • Mei-Ling Shyu, University of Miami, USA
  • Keiji Yanai, University of Electro-Communications, Japan

Industrial Program Co-Chairs

  • Ying Li, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA
  • Lei Zhang, Microsoft Research Asia, China
  • Mark Wood, Eastman Kodak, USA

Best Paper Award Committee Co-Chairs

  • Qi Tian, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Sethuraman Panchanathan, Arizona State University
  • Marcel Worring, University of Amsterdam
  • Balakrishnan Prabhakaran, University of Texas at Dallas

Demo Co-Chairs

  • Ramazan Savas Aygun, University of Alabama in Huntsville, USA
  • Jianping Fan, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
  • Stacie Hibino, Eastman Kodak Company, USA

Panel Co-Chairs

  • William I. Grosky, University of Michigan-Dearborn, USA
  • Abed El Sadik, University of Ottawa, Canada

Publicity Co-Chairs

  • William Bishop, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Kasturi Chatterjee, hi5 Networks, Inc., USA
  • Min Chen, University of Montana, USA
  • Florian Metez, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Masahito Hirakawa, Shimane University, Japan
  • Lin Lin, American National Standards Institute, USA
  • Rong Yan, Facebook, USA
  • Atsuo Yoshitaka, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Finance Chair

  • George Wang, California State University Northridge

Registration Chair

  • Ke Hao, University of California, Irvine, USA

Publication Chair

  • Anthony Y.H. Liao, Asia University, Taiwan

Local Arrangement Chair

  • George Wang, California State University Northridge, USA

Web Chair

  • Chengjia Huo, University of California, Irvine, USA


  • Shu-Ching Chen, Florida International University, USA

Steering Committee Chair

  • Jeffrey Tsai, Asia University, Taiwan