The 10th IEEE International Conference on Mobile Ad Hoc and Sensor Systems (MASS 2013)

October 14-16, 2013

HangZhou, ZheJiang Province, China


The 10th IEEE International Conference on Mobile Ad hoc and Sensor Systems (IEEE MASS 2013) will be held in HangZhou, Zhejiang Province, China, during October 14-16, 2013. Wireless ad hoc communication and mobile networking/computing have applications in a variety of environments, such as conferences, hospitals, battlefields, and disaster-recovery/rescue operations, and are also being actively investigated as an alternative paradigm for Internet connectivity in both urban and rural areas. Wireless sensor and actuator networks are being deployed for enhancing industrial control processes and supply-chains, and for various forms of environmental monitoring. IEEE MASS 2013, sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society, aims at addressing advances in research on multi-hop wireless ad hoc and sensor networks, covering topics ranging from technology issues to applications and test-bed development.

Topics of Interest

Original, unpublished contributions are solicited in all aspects of mobile ad hoc networks (MANETs), wireless sensor networks (WSNs) (including cyber-physical systems, Internet of Things), and mobile networking/computing, including theory, systems and applications. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Algorithmic aspects of MANETs and WSNs
  • Application Layer Protocols
  • Architectures of wired/wireless networks
  • Capacity planning and admission control
  • Clustering, topology control, coverage, and connectivity
  • Cognitive networking
  • Cooperative and cognitive communication
  • Cooperative sensing in WSNs
  • Compressive sensing technologies
  • Crowd-sourcing techniques
  • Cross layer design and optimization
  • Cyber-physical systems
  • Data gathering, fusion, and dissemination
  • Data transport and management in WSNs
  • Delay tolerant networks
  • Experiences from real-world applications and long-term deployments
  • Handoff/mobility management and seamless internetworking
  • Internet/Cloud of Things
  • Key management and trust establishment
  • Localization and Location Based Services
  • MAC protocols, including 802.11, 802.15.4, UWB
  • MAC-layer design for ad hoc networks and WSNs
  • Machine-to-machine (M2M) communications
  • Measurements, experimental systems and test-beds
  • Mobile computing and networking Mobility management
  • Modeling, analysis and performance evaluation
  • Multi-channel, multi-radio and MIMO technologies
  • Network Layer protocols
  • Networked smartphone applications
  • Novel applications and architectures for WSNs
  • Operating systems and middleware support
  • Opportunistic networking
  • P2P, overlay, and content distribution
  • Power-aware architectures, algorithms, and protocols design
  • QoS and Resource management
  • Reliability, resiliency and fault tolerance techniques
  • Resource management and wireless QoS provisioning
  • Robotic networks
  • Routing protocols, including unicast, multicast, broadcast, geocast
  • Security and privacy issues in ad hoc and sensor networks, and mobile networking
  • Smart grid
  • Smart healthcare
  • Smart transportation
  • Social networks using smartphones and sensors
  • Time synchronization
  • Topology control, coverage and connectivity issues
  • Vehicular networks and protocols
  • Wireless mesh networking

Paper Submission and Review

Authors are invited to submit technical papers presenting original, unpublished research, not currently under review elsewhere. All submissions should be written in English with a maximum length of 9 single-spaced, double-column pages using 10pt size fonts on 8.5 x 11 inch pages, with side-margin at least 1 inch, including all figures, tables, and references. All paper submission will be electronic, in PDF format, through EDAS. Accepted papers will appear in the conference proceedings published by IEEE and will be presented at the conference. Based on reviews and TPC discussions, the TPC may choose to accept some papers as short papers (5 pages). For all papers, IEEE reserves the right to exclude the paper from distribution after the conference (e.g., removal from IEEE Xplore) if the paper is not presented at the conference.

Posters and Demos

The conference will also include a poster and demo session. Refer to the separate, Call for Posters, and Call for Demos for details, including submission instructions.

For More Information

For questions about the paper submission and review process, please contact the MASS 2013 Program Co-Chairs

Important Dates

Paper registration deadline Monday, April 15, 2013
Full paper submission deadline Monday, April 22, 2013
Paper acceptance notification Monday, July 15, 2013
Paper camera-ready deadline Monday, August 5, 2013

Organizing Committee

General Co-Chairs

  • Parmesh Ramanathan, University of Wisconsin, USA
  • Youxian Sun, Zhejiang University, China

TPC Co-Chairs

  • Xiangyang Li, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
  • Matt Mutka, Michigan State University, USA
  • Zhaohui Wu, Zhejiang University, China

TPC Vice-Chairs

  • Algorithms and Theory: Xinbing Wang, ShangHai JiaoTong University, China
  • Systems and protocols: Yingying Chen, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
  • Applications and Testbed Evaluation: Gang Zhou, College of William and Mary, USA

Local Chair

  • Jiming Chen, Zhejiang University, China

Web Chair

  • Shibo He, Arizona State University, USA

Publication Chair

  • Dajin Wang, Montclair State University, USA

Publicity Chairs

  • Stefano Avallone, University of Naples, Italy
  • Peng Cheng, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
  • Hiroki Nishiyama, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Dezun Dong, National University of Defense Technology, China

Poster Chairs

  • Mo Li, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Avinash Srinivasan, George Mason University, USA

Demo Chairs

  • Xufei Mao, Tsinghua University, China
  • Chieh-Jan Mike Liang, Microsoft Research Asia

Submission Chair

  • Yu Wang, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA

Steering Committee

  • Dharma Agrawal, University of Cincinnati, USA
  • Kang Shin,University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
  • Jie Wu,Temple University, USA