The 6th IEEE International Conference on Advanced Networks and Telecommunication Systems (ANTS 2012)

16-19, December, 2012

Bangalore, INDIA

Sponsored by IEEE Communications Society

Call for Papers

ANTS is the premier IEEE forum on networking and telecommunications topics in India. The distinguishing characteristic of IEEE ANTS is the promotion of an intense dialogue between academia and industry to bridge the gap between academic research, industry initiatives and governmental policies. This is fostered through panel discussions, keynotes, and invited talks where academia is exposed to state-of-practice and results from industry trials, and interoperability experiments. The industry is benefited in turn by exposure to leading-edge research in networking as well the opportunity to communicate to academic researchers which practical problems require further research. Further, an opportunity is provided to discuss governmental policies and make recommendations as appropriate to promote an innovation economy in India.

Motivated by the tremendous success of the first five IEEE ANTS events in Mumbai in 2007, 2008, 2010, in New Delhi in 2009, and in Bangalore in 2011, the theme of 2012 event is on enabling content enriched personalized communication over “green” networks while delivering exemplary user experience on any connected device.

IEEE ANTS is the premier IEEE forum on networking and telecommunications topics in India. Bridging the gap between academic research, industry initiatives and governmental policies ANTS is fostered through panel discussions, keynotes, and invited talks.

IEEE ANTS 2012 will feature both long and short papers in three broad areas:

Network Applications

  • Cyber-physical systems and networks
  • M-Health, E-Health and Smart Healthcare
  • Energy-Efficient Green networking and Sustainability
  • IPTV, Video-on-Demand, Telepresence, Collaboration tools
  • Online social networking
  • Peer-to-peer networks
  • Smartphone networked apps
  • Security, trust and privacy
  • Embedded Analytics

Wireless Networks

  • Ad hoc mobile networks
  • Cellular and broadband wireless networks
  • Cognitive radio networking
  • Mobility models and mobile networks
  • Optical wireless (free space optics)
  • Sensor networks and embedded systems
  • Wireless access networks
  • Wireless mesh networks

Wireline Networks

  • Cloud and data center networks
  • Core network architectures & protocols
  • Metro and access networks
  • Optical networks
  • Router and switch architectures
  • Storage networks

Important Dates

Paper Submission Deadline 20 August 2012
Notification of Acceptance 8 November 2012
Registration deadline for Authors 8 November 2012

Conference Organization

General Chairs

  • Sanjay Nayak, Tejas Networks
  • Deepak Kataria, IPJunction Inc
  • Technical Program Chairs:
  • Magda El Zarki, UC Irvine
  • Debasish Datta, IIT Kharagpur
  • Goutam Das, IIT Kharagpur

Industry Chairs

  • Venkatesh Krishnaswamy, Avaya
  • Srinidhi Saragur, SJB Research Foundation

Tutorial Chair

  • Vijay Mann, IBM Research India
  • Publications Chair:
  • Vinod Vokkarane, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Panels Chairs

  • PVG Menon, India Semiconductor Association (ISA)
  • Mansoor Alicherry, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, India

Web Chair and Graphics Designer

  • Sachin B. Shetty (HP Labs, India)

Local Outreach & Arrangements Chair

  • Pavanesh, R (HP Labs India)
  • Poornima S P (Tejas Networks)

Publicity Chairs

  • India: Saigopal Thota, HP Labs India and University of California, Davis
  • Asia Pacific: Vijay Sivaraman, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • USA: Ming Xia, Ericsson Research, USA

Conference Manager

  • Gayle Weisman (IEEE ComSoc)

Steering Committee

  • Sudhir Dixit, HP Labs, India (Chair)
  • Rudra Dutta, NCSU, USA
  • Byrav Ramamurthy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
  • Krishna Sivalingam, IIT Madras, India
  • Deepak Kataria, IPJunction Inc, USA

International Advisory Committee

  • Biswanath Mukherjee, UC Davis, USA (Chair)
  • Vijaya Kumar, Wipro, Bengaluru, India
  • Viswanath (Vishy) Poosala, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, India
  • PVG Menon, India Semiconductor Association (ISA)
  • Tulika Pandey, Ministry of Communications & Information Technology, Government of India

Brand development and Graphic Design

  • Max Loskutnikov (IEEE ComSoc)