The 7th IEEE International Conference on Advanced Networks and Telecommunication Systems (ANTS 2013)

Dec. 15-18, 2013

SRM University, Chennai, INDIA

Sponsored by IEEE Communications Society



ANTS is the premier IEEE forum on networking and telecommunications topics in India and the only conference financially sponsored by IEEE Communications Society. The distinguishing characteristic of IEEE ANTS is the promotion of an intense dialogue between academia and industry to bridge the gap between academic research, industry initiatives and governmental policies. This is fostered through panel discussions, keynotes, invited talks and industry exhibits where academia is exposed to state-of-practice and results from trials and interoperability experiments. The industry in turn benefits by exposure to leading-edge research in networking as well as the opportunity to communicate with academic researchers regarding practical problems that require further research.


We are witnessing a paradigm shift in networking where the end user demands and cloud computing based service paradigms are influencing evolving network architectures, system designs and service delivery models. Over-the-Top (OTT) players, consumer electronic vendors, IT providers and 3rd party software developers have entered the service delivery value chain fostering an open environment challenging the hegemony of traditional network operators. IT & Telecom, hitherto distinct domains, are now spoken of as ICT (Information and Communications Technologies) symbolizing the close inter-working of these disciplines in the emerging service delivery architectures. Different vertical industries such as energy utilities, health-care, automotive, banking & finance, retail, media entertainment are leveraging network technologies in innovative ways to offer branded services directly or in partnership with network providers. Machine-to-Machine (M2M) and Internet of Things (IoT) have opened new vistas for communications and networking technologies.

IEEE ANTS 2013 will feature a rich industry program comprising of keynote addresses, invited talks and panel discussions to complement a high quality technical program of peer-reviewed papers, tutorials, and Ph.D. student forum presentations bringing together experts from industry, academia and government. The conference will provide an exciting meeting ground for the confluence and exchange of ideas among participants from all over the world.

A subset of the accepted papers will be considered for special issues of journals including the Springer Photonic Network Communications Journal.

IEEE ANTS 2013 will feature both long (6-page) and short (3-page) papers in three broad areas.  Authors are strongly encouraged to address topics of interest to both industry and academia, focusing on (but not limited to) the following thrust areas:

  1. Wireline Networks (including topics such as):
  • Cloud and data center networks
  • Software-Defined Networks
  • Core network architectures and protocols
  • Metro and access networks
  • Optical communications and networking
  • Architectures for high-performance router and switches
  • Storage networks
  • Grid networks
  • Power line communication networks
  • Network architectures for the Smart Grid
  1. Wireless Networks (including topics such as):
  • Ad hoc mobile networks
  • Cellular and broadband wireless networks (LTE, LTE+, etc.)
  • Cognitive radio networking
  • Convergence of optical and wireless access networks
  • Machine to Machine Communications
  • Mobile backhaul networks
  • Mobility models and mobile networks
  • Next generation mobile/wireless networks
  • Networks for Internet-of-Things
  • Optical wireless (free space optics)
  • Radio access networks
  • Satellite communication networks
  • Sensor networks and embedded systems
  • Wireless access networks
  • Wireless body area networks
  • Wireless grid networks
  • Wireless local and personal area networks
  • Wireless mesh networks
  • Wireless opportunistic networks
  1. Network Applications and related (including topics such as):
  • Cyber-physical systems and networks
  • Data and File sharing
  • Embedded Analytics
  • Energy-Efficient Green networking and Sustainability
  • IPTV, Video-on-Demand, Telepresence, Collaboration tools
  • M-Health, E-Health and Smart Health-care
  • Middleware services
  • Network virtualization
  • Online social networking
  • Peer-to-peer networks
  • Security, trust and privacy
  • Smartphone networked apps
  • Standardization
  • Telecom service assurance
  • Triple-play architectures and applications

Important Dates

Paper Submissions July 15, 2013
Tutorial, Panel, Exhibits/Demos, PhD Student Forum Submissions August 1, 2013
Notification of Acceptance September 1, 2013
Camera-Ready Paper Submission and Author Registration October 1, 2013 (For Technical Paper, Exhibit/Demo and PhD Student Forum)
Early-bird Registration Ends November 15, 2013
Conference dates December 15 – 18, 2013

Organizing Comittee

General Co-Chairs

  • Krishna Sivalingam, IIT Madras, India,
  • T. Rama Rao, SRM University, Chennai, India,

General Vice-Chair

  • Byrav Ramamurthy, University of Nebraska Lincoln, USA,

TPC Co-Chairs

  • Vinod Vokkarane, Univ. of Massachusetts Lowell, USA,
  • Goutam Das, IIT Kharagpur, India,
  • Ming Xia, Ericsson, USA,

Industry Co-Chairs

  • Venky Krishnaswamy, Avaya Labs, USA,
  • Vijay Mann, IBM India,
  • V. Kirubandanan, SRM University, Chennai, India,

Panels Co-Chairs

  • Bhabani P. Sinha, ISI, Kolkata, India,
  • Gaurav Raina, IIT Madras, India,

Tutorials Co-Chairs

  • Kalimani Venkatesan, Aricent, India,
  • T. Venkatesh, IIT Guwahati, India,

Sponsorships Chairs

  • V. Nagarajan, Andromedia Communications P Ltd, India,
  • Deepak Kataria, IPJunction Inc., USA,

Demos/Exhibits Co-Chairs

  • B.S. Manoj, IIST Trivandrum, India,
  • Nadeem Akhtar, CeWIT, Chennai, India,
  • P. Yogesh, Anna University (CEG Campus), Chennai, India,

PhD Student Forum Co-Chairs

  • Bheemarjun Reddy, IIT Hyderabad, India,
  • Revathy Venkataraman, SRM University, Chennai, India,
  • Sabitha Ramakrishnan, Anna University (MIT Campus), Chennai, India,

Publications Chair

  • Saigopal Thota, HP Labs India & UC Davis, USA,

Website Co-Chairs

  • Sachin Shetty, HP Labs India,
  • Dept. of Telecom Engg., SRM University, Chennai, India,

Publicity Co-Chairs

  • M. Pushpalatha, SRM University, Chennai, India,
  • Ranbir Singh, IIT Guwahati, India,
  • Seshadri Mohan, Univ of Arkansas at Little Rock, USA,

Local Arrangement Co-Chairs

  • T. Rama Rao, SRM University, Chennai, India,
  • Priyanka Varadharajan, IIT Madras, India,
  • Pavanesh R., HP Labs India,

Registration Co-Chairs

  • Priyanka Varadharajan, IIT Madras, India,
  • M. Vasanthi, SRM University, Chennai, India,

Steering Comittee

  • Sudhir Dixit, HP Labs, India (Chair),
  • Rudra Dutta, North Carolina State University, USA
  • Deepak Kataria, IPJunction Inc, USA
  • Byrav Ramamurthy, University of Nebraska Lincoln, USA
  • Krishna Sivalingam, IIT Madras, India

International Advisory Comittee

  • Biswanath Mukherjee, UC Davis, USA (Chair),
  • I. Vijaya Kumar, Indian Angel Network
  • Viswanath (Vishy) Poosala, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, India