The 43rd Annual IEEE Conference on Local Computer Networks (LCN 2018)

October 1-4, 2018

Chicago, IL (USA)

The IEEE LCN conference is the premier conference on the leading edge of theoretical and practical aspects of computer networking. LCN is a highly interactive conference that enables an effective interchange of results and ideas among researchers, users, and product developers. For the past 42 years, major developments from high-speed networks to the global Internet to specialized sensor networks have been reported at this conference. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Personal and wearable networks
  • Wireless ad hoc & sensor networks
  • Information-centric networking
  • Embedded networks
  • Opportunistic networking
  • Delay-tolerant networks
  • Cognitive radio networks
  • Vehicular networks
  • Smart Grid communications
  • Underwater sensor networks
  • Cyber-physical systems
  • Social networks
  • Mobile and ubiquitous networking
  • Green networking
  • Overlay and peer-to-peer networks
  • Local-area and metropolitan-area networks
  • Storage-area networks
  • Routing and transport protocols
  • Big Data Networking
  • Cloud computing and networking
  • Software Defined Networking and Network Function Virtualization
  • Internet of Things
  • Link technologies
  • Adaptive networking applications
  • Authentication, authorization, accounting
  • Security and privacy
  • Cross-layer optimization
  • Mobility and Location-dependent services
  • Multimedia and real-time communication
  • Machine-to-machine communications for smart environments
  • Smart Cities
  • Network traffic characterization and measurements
  • Network management, reliability, and QoS
  • Performance evaluation of networks
  • Testbeds for network experiments
  • Network coding
  • Optical and high-speed access networks
  • E-Health networking

Authors are invited to submit papers describing original, previously unpublished work, not currently under review by another conference, workshop, or a journal. Full papers (up to 8 camera-ready pages, 10 pt font in IEEE format) should present novel perspectives within the general scope of the conference. Short papers are an opportunity to present preliminary or interim results and are limited to 4 camera-ready pages. Short papers will be presented in a poster session. Both full and short papers are published in the proceedings and IEEE Xplore. All papers must include title, complete contact information for all authors, abstract, and keywords on the cover page. IEEE reserves the right to remove papers from IEEE Xplore that are not presented at the conference.

Paper submission

Papers must be registered on EDAS and submitted in PDF format. Detailed submission instructions are available at the conference website. Direct your
questions to Program Chairs: Soumaya Cherkaoui( and Karl Andersson (

Important dates

Paper registration April 2, 2018
Paper submission May 3, 2018
Paper notification July 2, 2018
Final paper submission Aug. 6, 2018

Organizing Committee

  • General Chair: Kemal Akkaya (Florida International Univ., USA)
  • Program Chair: Soumaya Cherkaoui (Univ. Sherbrooke, Canada)
  • Program Co-Chair: Karl Andersson (Luleå Univ. of Technology,Sweden)
  • Publications Chair: Fadi Al-Turjman (Middle East Technical Univ., Turkey)
  • Workshops Chair: Hwee-Pink Tan (Singapore Management Univ., Singapore)
  • Demonstrations Chair: Kyong Jin Shim (Singapore Management Univ., Singapore)
  • Local Arrangements Chair: Katrin Reitsma (Motorola Solutions, USA)
  • Finance Chair: Frank Huebner (IEEE Computer Society Volunteer, USA)
  • Corporate Relations Chair: Suleyman Uludag (Univ. of Michigan Flint, USA)
  • Government & Student Grants Chair: Adel Ben Mnaouer (Canadian Univ. of Dubai, UAE)
  • Publicity Chair: Eyuphan Bulut (Virginia Commonwealth Univ., USA)
  • Webmaster: Gary Kessler (Embry-Riddle Aeronautical Univ., USA)

Steering Committee

  • Nils Aschenbruck, Univ. of Osnabrück, Germany
  • Joe Bumblis, IEEE TCCC Executive Committee
  • Ken Christensen, Univ. of South Florida, USA
  • Ehab Elmallah, Univ. of Alberta, Canada
  • Matthias Frank, Univ. of Bonn, Germany
  • Anura Jayasumana, Colorado State Univ., USA
  • Salil Kanhere, Univ. of New South Wales, Australia
  • Gary Kessler, Embry-Riddle Aero. Univ., USA
  • Burkhard Stiller, Univ. of Zürich, Switzerland
  • Tim Strayer, BBN, USA
  • Jens Töelle, Univ. of Bonn, Germany
  • Damla Turgut, Univ. of Central Florida, USA