The 3rd IEEE International Symposium on Nanoelectronic and Information Systems (iNIS 2017)

December 18-20, 2017

Bhopal, India

The primary objective of IEEE-iNIS 2017 is to provide a platform for both hardware and software researchers to interact under one umbrella for further development of efficient and secure information processing technologies.
Efficient and secure data sensing, storage, and processing play pivotal roles in current information age.
The state-of-the-art nanoelectronic technology based hardware systems cater to the needs of efficient sensing,storage, and computing. At the same time, efficient algorithms and software used for faster analysis and retrieval of desired information are becoming increasingly important. Big data which are large, complex data sets,are now a part of the Internet world. Storing and processing needs of the enormous amount of structured and unstructured data are getting increasingly challenging. At the same time, Internet of Things (IoT) and cyber-physical systems (CPS) have been evolving with simultaneous development of hardware and software and span across everyday consumer electronics. The performance and efficiency of the present as well as the future generations of computing and information processing systems are largely dependent upon advances in both hardware and software.

iNIS 2017 is sponsored by IEEE-CS under TCVLSI. iNIS has been initiated as a sponsored meeting of Technical Committee on VLSI, IEEE-CS ( that endorses a league of successful meetings such as ASAP, ISVLSI, ARITH, etc.,which are now presented as “Sister Conferences” in the iNIS website.
iNIS brings together leading scientists and researchers from academia and industry.

Confirmed Keynotes:
(1) Vijaykrishnan Narayan, Pennsylvania State University (PSU), USA
(2) Durga Misra, New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT), USA
(3) Sri Parameswaran, University of New South Wales (UNSW), Australia
(4) Garrett S. Rose, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA
(5) Ashok Srivastava, Louisiana State University, USA

Contributions are sought in (but are not limited to) the following areas:
(1) Nanoelectronic VLSI and Sensor Systems (NVS)
(2) Energy-Efficient, Reliable VLSI Systems (ERS)
(3) Hardware/Software for Internet of Things (IOT) and Consumer Electronics (CE)
(4) Hardware for Secure Information Processing (SIP)
(5) Hardware/Software Solutions for Big Data (SBD)
(6) Cyber Physical Systems and Social Networks (CSN)
Detailed description of the tracks is provided in the iNIS website.

iNIS 2017 proceedings will be published by IEEE-CS conference publication services (CPS). Authors are invited to submit full-length (6 pages maximum), original, unpublished research papers with an abstract (200 words maximum). Papers violating length would be excluded from the review process.
Previously published papers or papers currently under review for other conferences/journals should not be submitted and will not be considered for publication.
Authors should submit their original work of maximum 6 pages using double-column IEEE-CS conference format-template (
A selected papers from iNIS 2017 program will be invited for submission to a peer-reviewed journal special issue based on reviewer feedback and  quality of conference presentation.

Paper Submission Site:

Important dates

Submission Deadline Jul 2, 2017
Notification Due Sep 15, 2017
Final Version Due Oct 10, 2017

Special Sessions and Panels (SSP): iNIS 2017 will consider proposals for special sessions as well as panels. Special session and panel proposals/papers can be submitted to Special Sessions and Panels track at the online submission link.
The submission deadline is the same as specified for the regular paper submissions.
All accepted special session papers will be published in the conference proceedings.

Student Research Forum (SRF): iNIS 2017 will host a student research forum. Authors should submit their original unpublished work of maximum 4 pages using IEEE-CS double-column conference format-template.
Manuscripts in PDF format with author information (optional)should be submitted to the Student Research Forum track at the online submission link. The submission deadline is the same as specified for the regular paper submissions.
All the accepted student research symposium papers will be published in the conference proceedings.

Award Information: 3 student travel awards of $250 each for travel to iNIS 2017.
In addition, $150 for the best paper award. Following is the summary:
(1) 3 TCVLSI Student Travel Award ($250 each)
(2) 1 TCVLSI Best Paper Award ($150 each)

Organizing Committee

General Chairs

  • Dhruva Ghai, Oriental University, India
  • Xin Li, Duke Universty, USA
  • Prasun Ghosal, IIEST, India

Program Chairs

  • Anirban Sengupta, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Indore
  • Sudeep Pasricha, Colorado State University, USA
  • Jawar Singh, IIITDM, Jabalpur

Publication Chair

  • Karthikeyan Lingasubramanian, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
  • Shubhajit Roy Chowdhury, IIT Mandi, India

Web Chair

  • Mike Borowczak, Erebus Labs & Consulting LLC, USA

Publicity Chairs

  • Volkan Kursun, HKUST, Hong Kong
  • Alak Majumder, NIT Arunachal Pradesh, India
  • Gargi Khanna, NIT Hamirpur, India
  • Tripta Thakur, MANIT, Bhopal, India
  • Umar Albalawi, University of Tabuk, Saudi Arabia
  • Saumya Kanti Datta, Eurecom, France

Local Arrangement Chairs

  • Deepika Masand, OIST, Bhopal, India,
  • Taruna Jain, Barkatullah UIT, Bhopal, India
  • Deepak Verma, MANIT, Bhopal, India

Special Session Chairs

  • Himanshu Thapliyal, University of Kentucky, USA
  • Hai (Helen) Li, Duke University, USA

Student Research Forum Chairs

  • Kavita Burse, OIST, Bhopal, India
  • Naveen Kumar Agrawal, OCT, Bhopal, India

Finance Chairs

  • Garima Ghai, Oriental University, Indore, India
  • Sunil Singh, OIST, Bhopal, India

Registration Chairs

  • B. K. Kaushik, IIT Roorkee, India
  • Rahul Dubey, OIST, Bhopal, India
  • Bhoopendra Singh, RGPV, Bhopal, India

Industry Liaison Chairs

  • Santosh K. Vishvakarma, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Indore
  • Nagi Naganathan, Broadcom Limited, USA
  • Dheeraj Agarwal, MANIT, Bhopal, India

Track Chairs

NVS Track Chairs

  • Maryam Shojaei Baghini, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
  • Yiyu Shi, University of Notre Dam, USA

IoT Track Chairs

  • Vaskar Raychoudhury, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

SIP Track Chairs

  • Apostolos Fournaris, University of Patras, Greece
  • Kamalakanta Mahapatra, NIT Rourkela

ERS Track Chairs & Members

  • Sujay Deb, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology Delhi
  • Saket Srivastava, University of Lincoln, UK

SBD Track Chairs & Members

  • Karan Mitra, Lule University of Technology
  • Theocharis Theocharides, University of Cyprus

CSN Track Chairs & Members

  • Tie Qiu, Dalian University of Technology (DUT)
  • Mehdi Maasoumy, University of California at Berkeley

Steering Committee

  • Saraju P. Mohanty, University of North Texas, USA, Chair
  • Prasun Ghosal, IIEST, Shibpur, India, Vice Chair
  • Dhruva Ghai, Oriental University, India, Vice Chair
  • Aida Todri-Sanial, CNRS-LIRMM, France
  • Ashok Srivastava, Louisiana State University, USA
  • Hai (Helen) Li, University of Pittsburgh, USA
  • Himanshu Thapliyal, University of Kentucky, USA
  • Jia Di, University of Arkansas, USA
  • Nabanita Das, Indian Statistical Institute, India
  • Sudeep Pasricha, Colorado State University, USA
  • Xin Li, Carnegie Mellon University, USA