The 22nd IEEE International Workshop on Computer Aided Modelling and Design of Communication Links and Networks (CAMAD 2017)

June 19-21, 2017

Lund, Sweden

Call for Papers

The International Workshop on Computer-Aided Modeling Analysis and Design of Communication Links and Networks (CAMAD), provides a forum for discussion of recent developments on analytical and simulation tools and techniques for the performance evaluation of communications systems. It was launched in 1986, being held every 2 years until 2006, often in cooperation with flagship IEEE Communication Society conferences (Int. Conference on Communications – ICC, Global Telecommunication Conference – GLOBECOM). Since 2006, the workshop has been held once every year motivated by the ever increasing interest in this hot research and development field. From 2009, CAMAD is an IEEE Communications Society portfolio event. IEEE CAMAD 2012 will be held as a stand-alone event on June 19-21, 2012, in Lund.
This year IEEE CAMAD will focus on communication aspects of 5G Networking and beyond. IEEE CAMAD will be hosting several Workshops and Special Sessions, bringing together a diverse group of scientists, engineers, manufacturers and providers to exchange and share their experiences and new ideas focusing on research and innovation results under wireless communications in the 5G domain. In addition to contributed papers, the conference will also include keynote speeches, panel and demo sessions.
CAMAD will comprise aside from submitted peer-reviewed papers, several special sessions, panels, demonstration sessions and tutorials, and will bring together scientists, engineers, manufacturers and service providers to exchange and share their experiences, new ideas, and research results surrounding all aspects on energy saving and the solutions adopted to envisage an environmentally friendly internet of the future.
CAMAD is soliciting papers describing original work, unpublished and not currently submitted for publication elsewhere, on topics, including but not limited to, the following:

  • Wireless PHY layers for 5G: design, analysis, and optimization
  • Wireless MAC protocols for 5G: design, analysis, and optimization
  • 5G IoT networks for urban applications
  • Adaptive content distribution in on-demand services
  • Backhaul/fronthaul for multi-tier ultra-dense heterogeneous small cell networks
  • Cognitive and Cooperative Communications
  • Commercial and Societal Impact of Networks, Data, and Adaptive Services
  • Context and location-aware wireless services and applications
  • Cross-layer design for massive MIMO and multiuser MIMO networks
  • End-to-End Network slicing
  • Efficient integration of multiple novel 5G air interfaces
  • Energy harvesting wireless networks
  • Mobile big data and network data analytics
  • Mobile cloud and fog networking
  • Mobile social networks
  • Mobility, location, and handoff management
  • Multimedia QoS, and traffic management
  • Multiple access in machine-to-machine communication
  • Network estimation techniques
  • Optical Communications & Fiber Optics for 5G
  • QoS support and energy efficient MAC
  • Quality of Experience: Framework, Evaluation and Challenges
  • Simulation Techniques for Large-Scale Networks
  • Smart Grids: Communication, Modeling and Design
  • Software-defined wireless networks
  • Testbed, experiments, and prototype implementations of systems & services
  • Traffic Engineering, Modeling and Analysis
  • Ultra low-latency and ultra high-reliability
  • Validation of Simulation Models with Measurements
  • Wireless body area networks and e-health services
  • Wireless broadcast, multicast and streaming

Important Dates

Submission: March 12, 2017 (FIRM deadline)
Notification of acceptance: April 9, 2017
Submission of camera-ready papers: April 23, 2017
Author Registration Deadline: TBA


General Chairs

  • Björn Landfeldt, Lund University, Sweden
  • Christos Verikoukis, CTTC, Spain
  • Björn Ekelund, Ericsson, Sweden
  • Peter C. Karlsson, Sony, Sweden

TPC Co-Chairs

  • Di Yuan, Linköping University, Sweden
  • Petar Popovski, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • George Koudouridis , Huawei, Sweden
  • Charalabos Skianis, University of the Aegean, Greece

Financial Chairs

  • Bruce Worthman, IEEE, USA
  • Vangelis Angelakis, Linköping University, Sweden

Panels Chairs

  • Ola Svendin, Mobile Heights, Sweden
  • Nikolaos Passas, University of Athens, Greece

Special Sessions Chairs

  • Ilaria Malanchini, NOKIA Bell Labs, Germany
  • Elias Z. Tragos, FORTH, Greece

Tutorials Chairs

  • Angelos Antonopoulous, CTTC, Spain
  • Emil Björnson, Linköping University, Sweden

Publicity Chairs

  • Emma Fitzgerald, Lund University, Sweden
  • Kiho Lim, University of South Dakota, USA
  • Yuan Li, National University of Defence Tech., PRC

Demo Chairs

  • Lars Dittman, DTU Fotonik, Denmark
  • Harri Saarnisaari, CWC – Oulu University, Finland
  • Laura-Marie Feeney, Uppsala University, Sweden

Publications Co-Chairs

  • Saeed Bastani, Lund University, Sweden

Web & Social Media Chairs

  • Melani Gurdiel, Iquadrat, Spain
  • Lei You, Uppsala University, Sweden

Local Arrangement Chair

  • Christian Nyberg, Lund University, Sweden

Steering Committee

  • Michael Devetsikiotis, North Carolina State University, USA (Chair)
  • Nelson L.S. da Fonseca, UNICAMP, Brazil
  • Pascal Lorenz, University of Haute Alsace, France
  • Hussein Mouftah, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Fabrizio Granelli, University of Trento, Italy
  • Charalabos Skianis, University of the Aegean, Greece