The 22nd IEEE International Conference on Multimedia and Expo (ICME 2021)

July 5-9, 2021
Shenzhen, China

Call for Papers and Proposals

The IEEE International Conference on Multimedia & Expo (ICME) has been the flagship multimedia conference sponsored by four IEEE societies since 2000. It aims at promoting exchange of the latest advances in multimedia technologies, systems, and applications from both the research and development perspectives. ICME attracts well over 1000 submissions each year, serving as the prime forum for the dissemination of knowledge in the multimedia field.

ICME 2021 will take place July 5-9, 2021, Shenzhen, China. ICME 2021 will convene leading researchers and practitioners to share the latest developments and advances in the discipline. The conference will showcase high quality oral and poster presentations, as well as relevant Workshops sponsored by IEEE societies. An exposition of multimedia products, animations and industries will be also held in conjunction with the conference. Moreover, in ICME 2021 exceptional papers and contributors will be selected and recognized with prestigious awards.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Artificial Intelligence for multimedia
  • 3D multimedia, AR/VR and Immersive media
  • Emerging multimedia applications and technologies
  • Image/video processing
  • Multimedia analysis and understanding
  • Multimedia communications, networking and mobility
  • Multimedia databases and data mining
  • Multimedia for society and health
  • Multimedia interaction
  • Multimedia quality assessment and metrics
  • Multimedia security, privacy and forensics
  • Multimedia software, hardware and application systems
  • Multimedia standards, trends and related research
  • Multi-modal media computing and human-machine interaction
  • Social media analysis and applications
  • Speech/audio processing

Important Dates

Submission of papers

  • Regular Paper submission (including Special Sessions) : November 29, 2020
  • Submission of papers to workshops and other tracks : March 13, 2021
  • Industry/Application track paper submission : March 22, 2021

Submission of proposals

  • Special Session Proposals : November 01, 2020
  • Panel Proposals : November 01, 2020
  • Grand Challenge Proposals : November 01, 2020
  • Workshop Proposals : November 01, 2020
  • Tutorial Proposals : November 01, 2020
  • Open Source Competition : March 01, 2021
  • Demo Proposals : April 02, 2021
  • Industry Expo Proposals : May 01, 2021

Conference and Journal Papers

All papers presented at ICME 2021 will be included in IEEE Xplore.
The IEEE Transactions on Multimedia is partnering with IEEE ICME. Extended versions of the top-ranked ICME 2021 papers will be invited for submission and potential publication in the IEEE Transactions on Multimedia and IEEE Open Journal of Circuits and Systems. We invite authors to submit high-quality contributions aiming at taking part in this call and to have the opportunity to publish an extended ICME paper in this prestigious journal. After the due review process, if your paper is highly ranked, the Technical Program Committee Chairs will get in touch with you regarding the next steps.

Organizing Committee

Honorary Chairs

  • Chang Wen Chen
    State University of New York at Buffalo, USA
  • Wen Gao
    Peking University and Peng Cheng Lab, China

General Chairs

  • Moncef Gabbouj
    Tampere University of Technology, Finland
  • Houqiang Li
    University of Science and Technology of China, China
  • Guo-Jun Qi
    Futurewei Technologies/University of Central Florida, USA
  • Yonghong Tian
    Peking University and Peng Cheng Lab, China

Technical Program Committee Chairs

  • Wanqing Li
    University of Wollongong, Australia
  • Jiaying Liu
    Peking University, China
  • Guan-Ming Su
    Dolby Labs, USA
  • Anastasios Tefas
    Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Yonggang Wen
    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Chonggang Wang
    InterDigital Communications, USA

Panel Chairs

  • Gary Li
    Peking University (Shenzhen), China
  • Marta Mrak
    BBC R&D, UK
  • Shervin Shirmohammadi
    University of Ottawa, Canada

Tutorial Chairs

  • Giulia Boato
    University of Trento, Italy
  • Jie Wang
    University of Science and Technology of China, China

Workshop Chairs

  • Ivan Bajic
    Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Abdulmotaleb El Saddik
    University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Hongkai Xiong
    Shanghai Jiaotong University, China

Industry Chairs

  • Ali C. Began
    Ozyegin University, Turkey
  • Dong Tian
    InterDigital, Inc., USA
  • Qi Tian
    Huawei Technologies & UTSA, China/USA

Industry Expo Chairs

  • Han Hu
    Beijing Institute of Technology, China
  • Wen-Huang Cheng
    National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Publicity Chairs

  • Alexandros Iosifidis
    Aarhus University, Denmark
  • Dong Liu
    University of Science and Technology of China, China
  • Yao Liu
    Binghamton University, USA

Publication Chairs

  • Giuseppe Valenzise
    Laboratoire des Signaux et systmesè, France
  • Wengang Zhou
    University of Science and Technology of China, China

Demo Chairs

  • Zhenzhen Hu
    Hefei University of Technology, China
  • Zechao Li
    Nanjing University of Science and Technology, China

Special Session Chairs

  • Junchi Yan
    Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Yi Yu
    National Institute of Informatics, Japan

Grand Challenge Chairs

  • Shan Liu
    Tencent Media Lab, China
  • Liqiang Nie
    Shandong University, China
  • Zhengjun Zha
    University of Science and Technology of China, China

Open Source Chairs

  • Shiguang Shan
    Institute of Computing Technology, China
  • Wei Hu
    Peking University, China

Local Arrangement Chairs

  • Jingfei Qiu
    Peng Cheng Lab, China
  • Feng Zheng
    Southern University of Science and Technology, China

Financial Chairs

  • Xuejin Chen
    University of Science and Technology of China, China
  • Xiaoxu Luan
    Peng Cheng Lab, China

Sponsor Chairs

  • Dan Zeng
    Shanghai University, China
  • Yongdong Zhang
    University of Science and Technology of China, China

Web Chair

  • Qiaokang Xie
    University of Science and Technology of China, China