The 11th IEEE International Multi-Disciplinary Conference on Cognitive Methods in Situation Awareness and Decision Support (CogSIMA 2021)

Nordic Hotel Forum, Tallinn, Estonia
May 17, 2021 – May 20, 2021

Topics of Interest

CogSIMA 2021 continues and expands the research domain of situation management that was established by the first conference CogSIMA 2011. CogSIMA conferences provide a venue for presenting scientific results on interdisciplinary studies of complex heterogeneous dynamical systems that include humans, physical systems, and computer agents whose behaviors depend on situations.

See the list of Topics of Interest of CogSIMA 2021 here.

Call for Papers

Important Dates

  • Regular Papers: December 01, 2020
  • Poster Papers: January 11, 2021
  • Acceptance Notification (Regular & Poster): February 15, 2021
  • Camera Ready (Regular & Poster): March 31, 2021

How to Submit

We invite two types of submissions, regular papers and poster presentations, which will undergo a competitive review process. All papers must present original and unpublished work that is not currently under review elsewhere. Each paper will be reviewed by at least three independent referees. Papers will be evaluated according to their significance, originality, technical content, style, clarity, and relevance to the conference.

Quantitative and/or qualitative methods and results are welcome, as well as hypotheses-driven or more open-ended exploratory work. Submissions must clearly outline the methodology (manipulations, measurements, environment and context, etc.) and technologies used, for both replicability and enabling in-depth review. In addition, research providing novel system designs, algorithms, interface technologies, and computational methods supporting elements of situation management are encouraged. Submitted papers should address issues related to the general domain of situation management.

Regular Papers (5-8 pages): describe new results that advance the state-of-the-art. Each accepted paper will be allocated approximately 25 minutes for the oral presentation during the conference.

Poster Presentations (3-5 pages): describe work in progress. Each accepted poster will be presented in a 5 min. talk in the poster session, and will be included in the final conference proceedings submitted to the IEEE Xplore® Digital Library.

Authors should prepare a Portable Document Format (PDF) version of their paper using the stylesheet templates provided by IEEE (paper size: US letter). For more information contact All paper submissions will be handled electronically in EDAS:

Click here to submit

Authors of accepted submissions will need to sign an IEEE copyright release form. At least one author of an accepted paper is required to register for the conference at the full (member or non-member) rate and the paper must be presented by an author of that paper at the conference unless the TPC grants permission for a substitute presenter arranged in advance of the event who is qualified to present and answer questions. The conference proceedings will be digitally published by IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society and will be submitted to the IEEE Xplore® Digital Library.

Organizing Committee

General Chair

  • Leo Motus
    Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia

Honorary Chair

  • Gabe Jakobson
    CyberGem Consulting, USA

Vice Chair

  • Scott Fouse
    Independent Consultant, USA
  • Kellyn Rein
    Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, Germany

TPC Co-Chair

  • Kirstie Bellman
    Topcy House Consulting, USA
  • Nicolette McGeorge
    Charles River Analytics, Inc., USA
  • Alicia Ruvinsky
    ERDC US Army, USA
  • Mare Teichmann
    Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia

Keynotes/Tutorial Chair

  • Galina Rogova
    The State University of New York at Buffalo, USA

Finance Chair

  • Ken Baclawski
    Northeastern University, USA

Publications Chair

  • Mary Freiman
    Aptima, Inc., USA

Publicity Chair

  • Giuseppe D’Aniello
    University of Salerno, Italy

Industry/Government Liaisons Chair

  • Michael Kozak
    Lockheed Martin Advanced Technology Laboratories, USA

International Liaisons Chair

  • Andrea Salfinger
    Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria

Student Program Chair

  • Ahmet Köse
    IEEE Estonia, Estonia

Local Chair

  • Peeter Lorents
    Estonian Business School, Estonia

Local OC member

  • Ruth Laos
    Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
  • Mari-Anne Meister
    Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
  • Monika Perkman
    Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia
  • Reet Elling
    Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia